Friday, 31 January 2014

This butternut squash is the weight of a full-grown Boston Terrier in my arms but wriggles less. I pat it gently ? there's a hollow sound ? then I smooth away a coat of mud from its flanks.

*

Pauline Masurel

Thursday, 30 January 2014

Wednesday, 29 January 2014

the sign above the station
trying to outshine
the summer moon

*

B.T. Joy

Monday, 27 January 2014

Puffed up against the cold
But still cheerful
Hopping and chirping
In the cold and the dark
Learning from sparrows

*

Nina Shepardson

Sunday, 26 January 2014

pray mat flapping
my dusty mind
downswing

*

Ken Sawitri

Saturday, 25 January 2014

kids at the bus stop -
the phenomenology /
of mobile call plans
rain last night again /
the valley saturated /
the same old mistakes

*

Pip Williams

Friday, 24 January 2014

fresh snowfall --
shadows of bare branches
crisscross erased paths

*

Theresa A. Cancro

Thursday, 23 January 2014

knock out punch
trees fall
in a winter storm

*

Nancy May

Wednesday, 22 January 2014

Tuesday, 21 January 2014

Beach Bouquet

Salty ice-creamed
caramel skin;

a sliver of honey
mingled with sea-sweat

where I peel scorched burls
from your back.

*

Ian Mullins

Monday, 20 January 2014

-- The dog knows
The world so well
Chases his tail
Quite literally
But knows that
It gets him nowhere.

*

J.K. Durick

Sunday, 19 January 2014

The cliff juts. Its rocks resemble a strong jaw with pursed lips beneath an unruly quiff of spent buddleia blooms.

*

Pauline Masurel

Saturday, 18 January 2014

no star yet -
in the early evening
her earring's glitter

*

Angelee Deodhar

Friday, 17 January 2014

Sky pressing down – darker than the land,
Ash grey rests eerie on white.

*

F. E. Clark

Thursday, 16 January 2014

New Vegan

Her first tattoo --

brand against branding,
badge of compassion;

ink from animal bones.

*

Gareth Trew

Wednesday, 15 January 2014

Tuesday, 14 January 2014

NYC

Sitting in taco restaurant
typical America's Mexico
NY's streets whirlwind outside

*

Jeremiah Walton
Gatsby's Abandoned Children

Monday, 13 January 2014

Lapse

Sometimes I can’t recall
What I have done and
What I have yet to do.

*

J.K. Durick

Sunday, 12 January 2014

across flowerless gravel the drift of a passer-by's perfume

*

Mark Holloway
Beachcombing for the Landlocked

Saturday, 11 January 2014

Friday, 10 January 2014

white fog creeps through the trees breathing eucalyptus in my nose

*

Mark Kaplon

Thursday, 9 January 2014

Breakfast

Sitting with my sister
cinnamon french toast
drizzling maple syrup…
sunny morning
sweet support…

*

Kerry Wanamaker

Wednesday, 8 January 2014

Staining

Equipment on loan:
Barn-red stain, parson’s gray:
My neighbor’s ladder.

*

Robert Demaree

Tuesday, 7 January 2014

A middle-aged man sees himself as others see him and sobs.

*

Wayne Scheer

Monday, 6 January 2014

Sunday, 5 January 2014

lead to the gate
the baggage door is closed
cicada shower

*

Ken Sawitri

Saturday, 4 January 2014

The False Spring

Fresh snow sprinkled
On petite flower buds:

White chrysanthemums
Already beginning to bloom.

*

Joshua Bocher

Friday, 3 January 2014

Thursday, 2 January 2014

Kaspa says: "Come and look at the moon, honey. Just the way it's placed."
A cratered disc, resting on the hill. Gently glowing. One side dissolving into blue.

*

Satya Robyn
a small stone

Are you joining us for our January Mindful Writing Challenge?

Wednesday, 1 January 2014

Gusting wind. Bulging bottle gourds drum against the fence. Wind chimes play an autumnal capriccioso. The graceful spruces dance.

*

Chris Galvin

Are you joining us for our January Mindful Writing Challenge?