Sunday, 31 March 2013

How sweet is the brown, Bosc pear, voluptuous, hard.

*

Katherine Gotthardt
Weaker than Water

Tuesday, 26 March 2013

the starling struts by--
a little general
missing his arms

*

Scott Owens

Monday, 25 March 2013

The trembling hands of the organist hover above the keys — "Wrong song!"

*

Jade Bennington
Blush of Dawn

Wednesday, 20 March 2013

Under the railway arch
I eavesdrop on echoes-
Distant conversations

*

Rachel Sutcliffe

Monday, 18 March 2013

Sunday, 17 March 2013

holding on
with what she left behind
winter moon

*

Ramesh Anand
Seasonal Scenes

Saturday, 16 March 2013

February fire hydrant on the corner of Main Street and something: a patch of ochre paint has burst, a matchbook-shaped drop of red where yellow layers were.

*

Katherine Gotthardt
Weaker than Water

Friday, 15 March 2013

Granite clay biscuit dough
balled up quick
so it won’t stick
much.
I slap it flat and peel
from my palm, correcting
its quirks.
Far from perfect rounds
fossilize my fingerprints
and grow
golden.

*

Amy Paulussen

Thursday, 14 March 2013

Now the maple trees are everywhere,
invading the hickories and oaks.

*

Samantha Seto

Wednesday, 13 March 2013

Wiser

Nose pressed to windowpane, the dog, too, tired of rain. I blow up a balloon. She sniffs it, runs to a corner, talks to herself in her peculiar squeaky language. She approaches the balloon again, pats it carefully, watches as it rises off the floor and settles. Ears pricked, she continues to talk to herself, trawling past memories.

this winter
the way she lifts the balloon
by the tie

*

Margaret Beverland

Monday, 11 March 2013

Black speckled snow mounds line the path. Further out in the field where no one walks, glorious bundles of clean snow and streaks of pure ice. After many mornings of sun, the sky is milk without any honey.

*

Jade Bennington
Blush of Dawn

Sunday, 10 March 2013

friendship
peers through glasses to
get medicine for wife

*

Hema Ravi

Saturday, 9 March 2013

he never felt more alone
than when surrounded
by his own family

*

Scott Owens

Friday, 8 March 2013

Slow train home-
In the seat behind me
They plan Saturday night

*

Rachel Sutcliffe

Thursday, 7 March 2013

Wrought iron bench
dressed in ivy filigree
sits patiently in the snow

*

Maureen Bailey

Wednesday, 6 March 2013

In the park, this businessman
on a break -- fully suited --
lies in semi-supine;

notices the flow of breath
in his body with calm hands,
oblivious to onlookers.

*

Gareth Trew

Tuesday, 5 March 2013

Rinsing Cherries

Tap water spils
From the bowl as I pick
out the small, battered,
incomplete. I work by touch
by day: they’ll go uneaten.

*

Ana Garza G'z

Monday, 4 March 2013

The green grass
would not seem so perfect
without the mole’s hump of dirt.

*

Glenn Halak

Sunday, 3 March 2013

Splash water against my skin,
black tears fall from my eyes,
charcoal stains porcelain,
take my face off for the night.

*

Linda DeMello

Saturday, 2 March 2013

The once thick pristine white blanket is now thinned and soiled beyond hope of restoration. Age is causing it to become holey as it quickly fades away. After a brief, warm respite, cold will return and nature will replenish the grass’s green mantle with a fresh blanket of pure white.

*

Kathy Stupar
Beyond First Lines

Friday, 1 March 2013

The Blue Sky Series

Thin silver jet waltzing
through bluest blue sky
speckled with blackbirds

Frothy white
jet stream
racing across blue expanse

Soda fountain
whipped cream swirls
interwoven with blue threads

*

Kimberly Childers

(Happy birthday to Lizzie, Kimberly's daughter!)