Thursday, 28 February 2013

silver flecks
in the metro steps
shiny metal bars mark the edge
of each stair, fading
into filthy at the edges
but glowing in the centre
where our grubby shoes grip
as we trip up towards the city
of light.

*

Amy Paulussen

Wednesday, 27 February 2013

Dying okra weaves black patterns into earth,
colorful winds paint the sky, reflect on waters.

*

Samantha Seto

Tuesday, 26 February 2013

A calm pale blue sea patterned with silver.
The fishing boat, mobbed by gulls, lays lobster pots in the bay.
Sunset clouds burnished rose gold.

*

Lynds Jennings

Monday, 25 February 2013

today
four thrush eggs
in yesterday’s empty nest

*

Margaret Beverland

Sunday, 24 February 2013

no stopping sign-
a little bird makes his nest
on top

*

Rachel Sutcliffe

Saturday, 23 February 2013

each click of the needles
ravels a part of me into the warm wool

*

James Newton

Friday, 22 February 2013

Hit the wall,
hear you whisper,
"I love you".

*

Linda DeMello

Thursday, 21 February 2013

Morning light slow as a yellow slug.
An oil slick rainbow in a puddle
as the rain takes a deep breath.

*

Glenn Halak

Wednesday, 20 February 2013

Tuesday, 19 February 2013

quiet farm pond ―
I skip stones
off the moon

*

Craig W. Steele

Monday, 18 February 2013

Thin burgundy blueberry branches
tower above terracotta
filled with moist peat

*

kimberly childers

Sunday, 17 February 2013

The hard ridge of the scar near your bellybutton.
We should start over.

*

Linda DeMello

Saturday, 16 February 2013

Scratching a Dog’s Belly

The hair on her body is short and coarse, like stubble, except where her hind and forelegs meet the underside of her hips and ribs. There, her skin is naked and slack enough to be a child’s. Only her brows are full and long as lashes, but arced as thought.

*

Ana Garza G'z

Friday, 15 February 2013

A long line of white pelicans.
The ocean splits open.
A shadow at the end of a pier.

*

Glenn Halak

Thursday, 14 February 2013

The light turns from russet to blue, and the dry leaves on the windowsill shiver.

Jon Hoferle
Mind of Jon

Wednesday, 13 February 2013

Place de l’Eglise is reduced to shades of tarnished silver in the cold dawn light. I imagine people in the apartments above, returning to duvet cocoons, burning their fingertips on tiny cups of black coffee. I test my foot on a frozen puddle and huff a little cloud of warm breath toward the baby’s pink nose.

*

Amy Paulussen

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

Blind Love

She squirms before the best noodle soup
this side of Canal Street. Smiling
with puffed heart lockets etched
with Braille, eyes like Peridot stones
she texts the wrong recipient.

*

Kyle Hemmings

Monday, 11 February 2013

Nature’s winter house ornaments, icicles, now taking shape — each unique glass-like creation formed by the kiss of cold and the pattern of water’s fingers slithering around and gently gliding off

*

Kathy Stupar
Beyond First Lines

Sunday, 10 February 2013

helping to choose a baby name
one word to describe a lifetime

*

James Newton

Saturday, 9 February 2013

We race to our hidden spot
tall grasses wave in sunlight.
Prisoners held captive
at our tree fort for make-believe.

*

Samantha Seto

Thursday, 7 February 2013

The kestrel hovers, hunting.
A sage green sea, with wind driven white capped waves against storm blue clouds.
Seaweed tangles garland the shore.

*

Lynds Jennings

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

Like drifted snow, frozen mid-slide, May blossom drapes the hedgerows. Later, red fruit will develop.

*

Freya Pickard
Dragonscale Clippings

Tuesday, 5 February 2013

concertinaed traffic
a murmaration of starlings
shape the wet dusk

*

Matt Morden
Morden Haiku

Monday, 4 February 2013

Christmas 2007

Our daughter cooking
Dinner for the twelve of us,
A tear on her cheek.

*

Robert Demaree

Saturday, 2 February 2013

Friday, 1 February 2013

Homesick

on the steps
of the Salzburg gasthaus
a black poodle
a lifeline to our homeland
& the dog we left behind

*

Margaret Beverland