Thursday, 31 January 2013

Black power lines
pulled taught
against blue sky

*

kimberly childers

Wednesday, 30 January 2013

ripples of gold
the sinking sun rides the wake of a river boat

*

James Newton

Tuesday, 29 January 2013

Evergreen needles made spindly Rorschach tests out the door,
the Hoover's whir, last carol of the season

*

Patrick Nolan Ward

Monday, 28 January 2013

Sunday, 27 January 2013

Summer

a kid wearing paper tissues under starched collar,
ear glued to a transistor blaring "Baby Love,"
hands cutting out paper heroes.

*

Kyle Hemmings

Saturday, 26 January 2013

patchy clouds…
tadpoles rest in clumps
on the creek bed

*

Craig W. Steele

Friday, 25 January 2013

Twilight rain washes
yesterday’s paper.
Those people aren’t coming back.

*

Glenn Halak

Thursday, 24 January 2013

a low swarm of hailstones
a scurrying white piedpiper dance
among slow rushhour tyres

*

James Newton

Wednesday, 23 January 2013

Walking across the morning asphalt, shadows and sunlight - a speckled harmony. In the drop off/pick up zone, eye catches the glint of a small tan circle. Moving near I see it as a Cheerio. I continue into work, the preschool.

*

Nancy
pomegranate trail

Tuesday, 22 January 2013

The afternoon breeze blows bits of waterfall--
cooling confetti--
onto sweaty skin.

*

Kathleen Brewin Lewis

Monday, 21 January 2013

the scent
of mum’s soup in the breeze-
almost home

*

Rachel Sutcliffe

Sunday, 20 January 2013

A hat shaped like
a sailboat, made of newsprint:
cure for depression.

*

Jason Braun

Saturday, 19 January 2013

One last breath
of tar and nicotine,
I promise.

*

Linda DeMello

Friday, 18 January 2013

Rye, N.H.

Sea water bucket,
Pool under rocks, tiny crabs:
Seacoast grandchildren.

*

Robert Demaree

Thursday, 17 January 2013

friday night lights
a road stripped red
in the gritter's trail

*

Matt Morden
Morden Haiku

Wednesday, 16 January 2013

Tuesday, 15 January 2013

At the laundromat...
where is the girl whose stocking
has made my shirts blush?

*

Paul Hostovsky

Monday, 14 January 2013

Some things never change

his nerves pinched when he followed her into the bedroom;
like the first day of high school

*

Devlin De La Chapa
BoySlut

Sunday, 13 January 2013

Last Call

"Last call," says the barkeep,
sporting a bushy red handlebar mustasche,
sunken eyes. The night is shutting down.

*

Kyle Hemmings

Saturday, 12 January 2013

Friday, 11 January 2013

looking by chance at a sodium vapour streetlight as it lights up
sky blue rising to the quantum orange of dawn

*

James Newton

Thursday, 10 January 2013

On the mountainous backdrop to this lakeside trail,
pine trees stand like green arrowheads
in a child’s drawing.

*

Kathleen Brewin Lewis

Wednesday, 9 January 2013

winter chill........
unwelcome
in mother in law's home

*

Hema Ravi

Tuesday, 8 January 2013

Monday, 7 January 2013

The tall swamp grass
beckons. Meadowlarks
nail the silence shut.

*

Doug Draime

Sunday, 6 January 2013

Balloon Unplugged

Shirred rubber phallistic ribbonette,
immobilized by dreams
of strung flight. Unful-
filled. Master of no motion
but a flaccid flop.

*

A.J. Huffman

Saturday, 5 January 2013

Bay of Fundy

Brown sea flower pots
Gabled houses, pink lupins:
New Brunswick August

*

Robert H. Demaree Jr.

Friday, 4 January 2013

autumn gales ....
in the woods an old man stands still

*

Rachel Sutcliffe

Thursday, 3 January 2013

The sage flower buds looked dried up and dead until the rains came. Then they burst into bloom; pink-mauve, attracting bees and butterflies.

*

Freya Pickard
Dragonscale Clippings

Wednesday, 2 January 2013

Sun dogs circle
biting cold.
Teardrops cling, closing icicled lashes
against the brilliance.
My breath, a frigid fog,
hangs suspended,
chilling.

*

Maureen Bailey

Tuesday, 1 January 2013