Wednesday, 31 October 2012

For weeks, I've piled unopened mail in stacks on my porch table.
I can't bear to make room for it all in my fragile world.

*

Joyce Lazarus

Tuesday, 30 October 2012

night fall--
the last drop of sunlight
caught in a puddle

*

Vibeke Laier

Monday, 29 October 2012

Moonlight nestles on
your side of the bed.
Spotlight on an empty stage.

*

Sue Blott

Sunday, 28 October 2012

Married Compromises

Strange little pencils
Creeping through our house:
Lurking behind the computer,
On the microwave,
In that basket, under the bed.
What have you done to all the pens?

*

Jennifer Landry

Saturday, 27 October 2012

Knobs of sparrows
turn on snowy-branched lilacs—
fine-tune dawn’s chorus.

*

Sue Blott

Friday, 26 October 2012

Fan-shaped aspen leaves clatter like wind chimes in the gust before the storm.

*

Kathleen Brewin Lewis

Thursday, 25 October 2012

field

field of weeds
light green, white tips
waving, bouncing
soft white lace
regal but forlorn
cold driving rain
empty field alone

*

Lyn C. A. Gardner

Wednesday, 24 October 2012

Whistle Call

Whistle call of a persistent flicker
punctuates the morning meditation.

*

David Fraser

Tuesday, 23 October 2012

Monday, 22 October 2012

A Blackbird Sings

I got behind!

Normal service (daily small stones) will resume tomorrow.

In the mean time read this blog and do invite a few friends to our Mindful Writing Day on Facebook if you haven't already.

And have you seen our beautiful new book, A Blackbird Sings?

Thanks for your support, all.

Wednesday, 17 October 2012

dappled clouds
float above a green sea –
hydrangeas bloom

*

Craig W. Steele

Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Sunday's Song
puccini’s tosca
baked ziti and chianti
grandpapa nods off

*

Sandy Patton

Monday, 15 October 2012

Sunday Morning

There he was
the preacher,
dressed in the black smoke
of mufflers,
the clear blue empty sky,
and the red hands that sunk
to the bottom of the ocean.

*

Joshua Berida
Random Blurbs

Sunday, 14 October 2012

What a deep, vibrant green the lilac leaves display
After a shower passes through.

*

Marian Veverka

Saturday, 13 October 2012

Skinny winter birch shadows
fall across crisp snow—
nature’s barcode.

*

Sue Blott

Friday, 12 October 2012

morning splash -
a single duckling
longing for company

*

Vibeke Laier

Thursday, 11 October 2012

Wednesday, 10 October 2012

A long-legged weaver
whose orb luffs in a dawn breeze
slowly wraps her lunch.

*

M. Flynn Ragland

Tuesday, 9 October 2012

broken sprinkler
gurgling water
filling the gutter

*

Stephen Jarrell Williams

Monday, 8 October 2012

OCTOBER

Wind tosses a pinch
of black birds across clear blue
seasoning the sky

*

Claire Zoghb
SmallHouseBreathing

Sunday, 7 October 2012

(& this confidence didn't springsummerwinter out of the big bang or that void next to the orange moon, veiled & dreaming behind our rooftops last night. no. first, there was a flood – )

*

Camille Thigpen

Saturday, 6 October 2012

the empty sound
after the rain stops
puddles
asleep now
after their long downward journey

*

James Newton

Friday, 5 October 2012

Where am I?

“Yes dear
I’m out here
on the porch listening
to the early
morning crickets.”

*

Michael Estabrook

Thursday, 4 October 2012

The gravestone marks the dates of my husband's late wife
There is a space for his dates when he leaves me and returns to her.

*

Joyce Lazarus

Wednesday, 3 October 2012

Bonsai Artist

He prunes leaves from old memories.
Reworks them with bits of wire
into shapes he can recognize.

*

Richard Peabody

Tuesday, 2 October 2012

Snowstorm

The wind wraps
Around the house,
Like an over-sized parka
Held tight at the neck
By cold hands
To keep the hood from falling
Down.

*

Jennifer Landry

Monday, 1 October 2012

Devil in the Details

noontime downpour
my umbrella dry at home
devil in the details

*

Armando H. Corbelle