Wednesday, 31 August 2011

katydid katydid
doodling music
in the margins of my life

*

Aubrie Cox
Yay Words!

Tuesday, 30 August 2011

In only one week
fragrant and full blooms become
brown-fringed and wrinkly.

*

Dan Simmons


Monday, 29 August 2011

Leaf whispers, telling secrets to the breeze.
Bees gossip in and out of the majoram flowers.
The air warm, hinting at the sun behind it's grey gauze.

*

Charlotte
Chest of Delights

Sunday, 28 August 2011

The precise pitch at which my son's voice turns
from whine to cry of pain

*

Nikki Magennis

Saturday, 27 August 2011

back to black
death plucks a petal
off the daisy

*

Virginie Colline

Friday, 26 August 2011

Josie says, I want an elegant dress, a painting of an apple that does not taste like paint, and a silence that does not bore me. I want a mind that does not wander. I want everyone to go away and then to come back and then to go away again. I want to tear up these words and rewrite them. May I do that, author?

*

Jade Bennington
Blush of Dawn

Thursday, 25 August 2011

in black suit and tie
a thin young man
with a cherry helmet
sits upright on his moped
speeding by

*

Carla M Wilson
Wet Leaves

Wednesday, 24 August 2011

Auntie Joyce

Her knees betraying every one of her 92 years, she levered herself from her chair so that I could hoover underneath.

She fretted about retuning the television. Digital had her beaten.

*

Rosalind Broomhall

Tuesday, 23 August 2011

Broughty Sands

The beach, corrugated by waves,
cardboard ripped from
a hundred birthday surprises...

*

Marie Marshall
Kvenna ràð

Monday, 22 August 2011

The sun shining brightly upon the yellow-green-turned plants then tattooing the shadows on the wall creating sun patches.

*

Elisa Choi
Harmony Thoughts

Sunday, 21 August 2011

Snow Moon

Pale orange moon looms huge, cinctured by thin cloud it rises higher and pales perfectly round and clear: a snow moon.


*

Greg
Enchilada's Blog

Saturday, 20 August 2011

She dances down the aisle to a song I loved when she was a child. I'm irritated. I want her to stop. I tell her that she's not the only person in the garden department. She takes the bright yellow flowers out of my hands and laughs. "No," she says, "but I am the only one dancing."

*

angie werren
this empty nest

Friday, 19 August 2011

yoga
shoulders, already tired from yesterday's
pushups, topple over in
downward facing dog.

*

Amanda Harris

Thursday, 18 August 2011

From its high vantage point, on top of an aerial, on top of the pub, a blackbird sings its heart out. Traffic hurtles by on the road below.
A woman walks past with a cat in a basket.

*

Rosalind Broomhall

Wednesday, 17 August 2011

I ride the John Deere
son follows with toy mower
cuts his own path

*

Craig W. Steele

Tuesday, 16 August 2011

Her days spent
Counting out the
Many coloured pills

*

Angelika Kolompar

Monday, 15 August 2011

Rubbish Day

I have seen the broken chairs,
the soiled, once-green upholstery,
and cried for them like living things.

*

Laura Elizabeth Woollett

Sunday, 14 August 2011

Saturday, 13 August 2011

Friday, 12 August 2011

each note
helps slow my breathing
i cup my hands
they smell
of lavender

*

Carla M Wilson
Wet Leaves

Thursday, 11 August 2011

i watch him cannonball into the pool
the Rockies still capped with snow

*

Chelsea Cullen

Wednesday, 10 August 2011

late morning sun:
freckled, heart-shaped leaves fall open―
the whole day blossoms out of this light.

*


Jade Bennington
Blush of Dawn

Tuesday, 9 August 2011

Monday, 8 August 2011

Sunday, 7 August 2011

In bed, 2 a.m.

One cold hand, one cold foot
and jostling thoughts like
so many Saturday-children.

*

Marie Marshall
Kvenna ràð

Saturday, 6 August 2011

This empty cup: You sipped the bad coffee from it, then
washed it for me.

*

Kathy in the Wallowas
Of This Place – Wallowa Country

Friday, 5 August 2011

Tucked in my warm bed, a loud burst of rain from the sky. Mom's freshly washed clothes will have to wait for the sun to dry.

*

Elisa Choi
Harmony Thoughts

Thursday, 4 August 2011

the dog groans
dream-woods dirt on her feet

this milk moon

*

angie werren
this empty nest

Wednesday, 3 August 2011

two ravens on the railway
groom each other
with soft cackles

*

m.s. mallorn
one star awake

Tuesday, 2 August 2011

Monday, 1 August 2011

Fly

Eloquent: the fly's buzz against glass and light beyond, and in the light trees, hills, sky.

*

Greg
Enchilada's Blog