Sunday, 31 July 2011

Debbah’s Ice Cream—
One scoop, one dollar.
Just the right amount!


Chuck Joo

Saturday, 30 July 2011

On the grass, whilst walking the dog, a heart made out of pine cones.


Rosalind Broomhall

Friday, 29 July 2011

pearl earrings
cool against pale skin
sway with each tiny step


cool marble aisle
rose petal path
blushing smile


Melanie Bishop

Thursday, 28 July 2011

A pocketful of clover, buttercups and pebbles:
The haul of our nature walk


Claire Walker

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

first yellow rain —
my newborn son baptizes
the doctor


Craig W. Steele

Tuesday, 26 July 2011

The Lagoon

There is a small stone path
once you reach the other side
(take the dove-white canoe if you like)
and this path will lead you
to the ocean.

Meet me there in ten.


Carson Pierpont

Monday, 25 July 2011

Big-eyed, beautiful, bedraggled:
a brown-blond child in a navy coat.


Laura Elizabeth Woollett

Sunday, 24 July 2011

purple explosion
at end of green fuse —
first crocus


Craig W. Steele

Saturday, 23 July 2011

The arrival light of morning
tickles the birds into singing


Mark Stratton
Radio Nowhere

Friday, 22 July 2011

grocery shopping
mother raids the car trunk on a
ninety degree Monday, looking
for the quinoa.


Amanda Harris

Thursday, 21 July 2011

her son asks to climb
me like a small tree
I kiss her when
he's not looking because
I'm new here


Lucas Stensland

Wednesday, 20 July 2011

Summer heat.
My kitten poses
On the fence.


Alan Zhukovski

Tuesday, 19 July 2011

Her cat
Has the same blue irises
As a past lover


Angelika Kolompar

Monday, 18 July 2011

The country station:

between the rush of express trains, the sound of songbirds and the chiming of the church clock. Ponderously, an aggregates train shunts by. For a moment, nothing else exists.


Rosalind Broomhall

Sunday, 17 July 2011

Saturday, 16 July 2011

eyes and skies a fuzzy crystal blue.
a sunlit shouldered sensation
and smirking hips and lips
without vibration

a scorched summer driveway in heat
all to my bare feet,
not a single regret.

just fingers-full of rings
and things and cigarette.


Amy Duda

Friday, 15 July 2011

winter morning—
little birds arching up
into the blue forever


M. Kei

Thursday, 14 July 2011

hugging our daughter
through watermelon belly…kick —
first butterfly kiss


Craig W. Steele

Wednesday, 13 July 2011

midnight snow
blows from black to black
through the streetlights


T.D. Ingram

Tuesday, 12 July 2011

Monday, 11 July 2011

Sunday, 10 July 2011

blue pools on pavement
green sage darkening, juniper sharp
cold rain in Dry Canyon


m.s. mallorn
one star awake

Saturday, 9 July 2011

That old bike, so many miles it took him, racing the cold wind.


Ken Head

Friday, 8 July 2011

morning comes too early in summer, covering the night like a scanty minidress on a drunken lass in the Big Market


Caroline Brazier

Thursday, 7 July 2011

They laughed when Anna said the real deer may try to mate with her yard’s fake, plastic deer, and there would be a whole bunch of hybrid offspring born on the doorstep, with plastic ears and eyes that wouldn’t close.


Scott Riley Irvine

Wednesday, 6 July 2011

Man Crosses Street

Brimmed leather hat,
seabag slipping off his back
like a bloated tortoise shell;
finest flip flops a dumpster-diver can buy,
and he stole the beard—from ZZ Top!


Wesley Dylan Gray

Tuesday, 5 July 2011


Painted black and yellow
the broken marionette
takes too long to die.


Laura Elizabeth Woollett

Monday, 4 July 2011

Sunday, 3 July 2011

// next door neighbor • plays fetch with our dogs • over the back fence //


T.D. Ingram

Saturday, 2 July 2011

Three Great Things About Today's Ride

Red-winged blackbirds filling the air with song
A stranger waving as though we were friends
The blessed silence of a country road


Mrs. Micawber
Mrs. Micawber's Recipe for Happiness

Friday, 1 July 2011

the boards squeaked
shadow of the fly blinked on the wall
and vanished
in the hot air's murmur


Annette Anne
Hello Ann Photography