Monday, 31 January 2011

trust is the thin chains of a fairground swing
that hurl you out into the dizzy sky
and hold you in
so that only your screams spill over the watching crowd
like shrill confetti

*

James Newton

Saturday, 29 January 2011

I thought
I was over it
but here I am
again
staring at the moon

*

Christina Nguyen

Friday, 28 January 2011

Collector

A Harry Potter book next to the drawing of a bulldog and a notebook,
The printer, the camera and yellow dead batteries.
Why do I still keep them?
I don’t collect them, yet I have 27 of them. Can’t throw them away.

*

Sibel Catana

Thursday, 27 January 2011

Wednesday, 26 January 2011

Tuesday, 25 January 2011

curb sitting
between two old cars
head bowed

*

Anita McQueen

Monday, 24 January 2011

In the snow laden night
I breathe in the color silver.

*

Denise Kline

Sunday, 23 January 2011

THE VIEW FROM HIGHWAY 1

Snow predicted.
A red tractor

nuzzles in a corner
of the bare field.

*

Howie Good
Apocalypse Mambo

Saturday, 22 January 2011

the space
between falling snowflakes
the black
between fading stars
I can't see what I see

*

Chen-ou Liu
Poetry in the Moment

Friday, 21 January 2011

After my Granddad told me stable relationships are for horses, he walked into the kitchen, kissed my Grandma and whinnied.

*

Jack Jones

Thursday, 20 January 2011

the snow sleeps on car
hoods; the bum everyone
pretends not to see

*

Shannon Quay

Wednesday, 19 January 2011

Tuesday, 18 January 2011

Central Park kids
at the reflecting pool
crawdad fishing
baited with hot dog bits
tied to a scrap of string

*

T.D. Ingram

Monday, 17 January 2011

Saturday, 15 January 2011

Blonde boils brighter
at night. Glowing breathless. Still
his fingers draw death.

*

A.J. Huffman

Friday, 14 January 2011

Hoar frost: winter beauty treatment for skeletal trees.

*

Mel Morris-Jones

Thursday, 13 January 2011

A mushroom sprouts
from the base of the locust tree,
and it will not be distracted
from its small brown task.

*

Tamra Hays

Wednesday, 12 January 2011

Failed Angst Poem

This evening, I learned
it is hard to craft a poem
on corrosive loneliness,
when sitting in the hug
of sun-warmed rock; gazing
at a grinning moon.

*

Gareth Trew

Tuesday, 11 January 2011

we’re late
but we stop
to blow
every dandelion
along the way

*

Christina Nguyen

Monday, 10 January 2011

January Poem

Shriveling poinsettia,
how I will miss you

and the red you brought
to the season of candles!

*

Thomas Cochran

Sunday, 9 January 2011

The kettle sings,
Tea's aroma washes the air.
Ah!

*

Guy A. Duperreault
egajd

Saturday, 8 January 2011

dewy morning
spider webs glisten on pines —
nature’s garland

*

Craig W. Steele

Thursday, 6 January 2011

I awaken on your front lawn
staring at a cumulonimbus cathedral



*

William Merricle

Wednesday, 5 January 2011

jackdaws gathering
by the antenna
wire metal morning star

*

Johannes S. H. Bjerg
scented dust

Tuesday, 4 January 2011

Your sister’s next. I’m a little drunk with liquid courage. If I can’t have you, second best will do.

*

Len Kuntz

Monday, 3 January 2011

High School Sweethearts

That was a nasty little smirk
You failed to suppress
When you caught me
Bragging about my
Younger days.

*

Danny Earl Simmons
My Writing

Sunday, 2 January 2011

the ancients
called it pneuma
breath or soul
all short poems
sigh this spirit

*

T.D. Ingram

Saturday, 1 January 2011

the olive tree
enlarged by moonlight
- little blue owl

*

Kirsten Nørgaard
lille blå ugle
(little blue owl)