Thursday, 30 September 2010

Colorado draped
in sunflowers and sunshine
late summer perfume

*

Windi Padia

Wednesday, 29 September 2010

overheard in a café

the shadow of last night's
sleeplessness around his eyes
he fumbles with his mobile
"How much for a massage...
"for an hour?
"And it's for men? Massage for men?"

"Does it include everything?"

*

Kaspalita Thompson
Purple Clouds

Tuesday, 28 September 2010

Three Lives

the mosquito captured in a spider web fat
on someone’s blood—the spider riding dew drops
to consume the dreams of two

*

Barry Napier

Monday, 27 September 2010

In And Out Of the Pocket in My Head

6. I have lost my memory and have fouled much more time to try remembering

*

G. David Schwartz

Sunday, 26 September 2010

my father

i said
classical
poetry
is irrelevant
and he said
you
are irrelevant
and drank
some more

*

Shannon Peil

Saturday, 25 September 2010

smoke curls
around the empty vodka glass
I paint my face before my lover wakes up

*

Delores

Friday, 24 September 2010

novo
the open day
the sketched direction
______to be lost
______to be found
___________________anew

*

dorothee lang

Thursday, 23 September 2010



on a wardrobe shelf
cigar box of cedar chips
and dry broken insects

*

T. D. Ingraham

Wednesday, 22 September 2010

Tuesday, 21 September 2010

Breasts

All his life he loved breasts
and now that he has them
his wife wants him to diet.

*

James Valvis

Monday, 20 September 2010

Let it Be

The man on the radio told Juniper to “Let it be.” He liked the saying and molded his life around it. When his sister died, he realized it was a lousy saying.

*

Elliot Andreopoulos

Sunday, 19 September 2010

PM Storm

rising slopes of mountains
purple in the dusk,
shy from the rolling thunderheads
that graze their summits like fists

*

Barry Napier

Saturday, 18 September 2010

In And Out Of the Pocket in My Head

2. I should have melted into the trees and be burned up or turned into furniture

*

G. David Schwartz

Friday, 17 September 2010

clear skies

she pauses
rolls a pant leg
up over a faded tattoo
steps
cautiously
into the clear waters

twenty two
and finally going to disney land

*

Shannon Peil

Thursday, 16 September 2010

Flies lie on their backs
Deep in hypnotic sleep
Dreaming of minute things.

*

Denis Robillard

Wednesday, 15 September 2010

Waterton Lake --
a doe and two fauns
crop the boulevard

*

Richard Stevenson

Tuesday, 14 September 2010

molting moon
______feather on the path
already five red leaves

*

Patricia Ranzoni

Monday, 13 September 2010

Reconstruction

I spend late nights drawing butterflies on the backs of shattered dreams.

*

Christina Rodriguez
The Write Queen

Sunday, 12 September 2010

Lines Upon Kicking Prozac in Latesummer ‘10

Thoughts, associations, information, self-loathing, hilarity, emotion floods my head in great booms and crashes. I lie down, my heart beats, sentences form and crackle behind my eyes. I put The Wire on DVD, listen to Morcheeba to calm down, try to remember the positives: if you bang your head on some sharp corner then you could cry a little but not really be hurt, if you dial a number there will be a voice on the other side, if you stumble on the cycle paths then somebody will take your hand.

*

Max Dunbar

Saturday, 11 September 2010

Friday, 10 September 2010

Perseid meteor conjunction

and in an irony of sky
it’s all rain and clouds

instead of wishing on shooting stars
I recover drained garden flowers

*

dorothee lang

Thursday, 9 September 2010

Hawthorn and rowan berries. Rose hips. Rosebay willow herb turning to seed. Summer slipping away.

*

Elise Tate

Wednesday, 8 September 2010

like a full moon’s tide
storm water destroys
the patterns in the sand
in the Zen garden

*

Kaspalita Thompson

Tuesday, 7 September 2010

Monday, 6 September 2010

deep night--
after the neighbor stops yelling
at her children
the mockingbird
begins to warble

*

d. f. tweney

Sunday, 5 September 2010

under the tent
snatches of hymns
hide from the rain

*

T. D. Ingraham

Saturday, 4 September 2010

Daddy rows his pirogue
down the street
after the tropical depression.

*

Laurie Kolp

Friday, 3 September 2010

Catch & Release

Can I reel him in like a
fish and if I catch him
will I keep him or throw
him back in?

*

Karyn Eisler

Thursday, 2 September 2010

headlights illumine
moth gets caught
frog escapes

*

Tonya Root

Wednesday, 1 September 2010

Buy Me A Soda

“Buy me a soda,” barked Methuselah.
“Shush,” replied Ralph.
“Buy me a soda,” Methuselah continued.
Ralph gave Methuselah a chocolate bar and he ate it.
Poor Methuselah went to a fire hydrant and urinated. Dizziness overcame him.

*

Elliot Andreopoulos