Wednesday, 30 June 2010

The handy-man told us the idea of black holes just creeps him out, and my mother, standing by the basement door with one hand on her upper lip, said, "Oh, I don't like black holes - they make me nervous."

*

Andrea Dulberger

Tuesday, 29 June 2010

17

a single bed apartment hovel
books to the ceiling
and barking dogs behind fences

the sorrow is in between

*

Aaron Talbot

Monday, 28 June 2010

oriole
in the aloe
flowers
picking and
chirpit-ing

*

Nina Buck

Sunday, 27 June 2010

Saturday, 26 June 2010

older joggers
in an urban landscape
wary of traffic

*

T.D. Ingraham
T.D. Ingraham

Friday, 25 June 2010

bruise blue sky
stoplights lift and swing
front moves in

*

T.D. Ingraham
T.D. Ingraham - Haiku

Thursday, 24 June 2010

Fireflies instead of stars

The porch could tell there were three of us. No one stood or sat very long. No one rocked. The moon lit her eyes when she bent over the rail. We were out of cups. She made up the sofa. He whistled at the dog licking the tailgate. The flashlight lay between us, black without the white of a current event.

*

Parker Tettleton
August Light

Wednesday, 23 June 2010

010110

Pineapple express
All day licks coast range doug fir.
Yellow labs double date.

*

Tom Chapman
SV TATOOSH

Tuesday, 22 June 2010

Summer evening

We searched the curve of night
for shooting stars and satellites
until the biggest of them all
hung low and golden in the west

*

Nerissa Rowan

Monday, 21 June 2010

Torrential downpours flooded the fence with clouds of full-blown roses, where yesterday only tightly furled buds huddled for safety.

*

Danni Gaylord

Sunday, 20 June 2010

Something silver flashed
below the surface and troubled the waters until we brought it out
to thrash inside the boat.

*

davidbdale
davidbdale

Saturday, 19 June 2010

aching river hemorrhages
through the new dam
spring in Arkansas

*

Jessica Otto
Visiting Another City

Friday, 18 June 2010

coffee filters
from my late mother's kitchen
used them all at last

*

T.D. Ingraham
T.D. Ingraham

Thursday, 17 June 2010

spring breeze
cuckoo comes closer
poco a poco

*

Kaspalita Thompson

Wednesday, 16 June 2010

A Catch

In the booze aisle -
The aged walrus man
Trawls the floor with the hook of his walking stick
And lands a shopping basket of vodka bottles

*

Dawn Evans

Tuesday, 15 June 2010

Daydown Drive

I saw a baby
on a rope swing
tied to a low
hanging bough.
Giggles in the air
over graves
and the sun.

*

Matt Spence
Matt's Potential Poetry

Monday, 14 June 2010

She hasn't cried since he left her peeling onions.

*

Monica Karbovszky
BeePod

Sunday, 13 June 2010

I drink the silence
of the crescent moon
in a river of words

*

Chen-ou Liu
Poetry in the Moment

Saturday, 12 June 2010

Turn in your sleep.
Smell of woodsmoke and earth.

*

Joseph Harker

Friday, 11 June 2010

Fresh sterile sheets
Antiseptics, IV fluids, PAIN
An open window
Birds soaring high
Hope of freedom

*

Lubna Kably
The Writer's Cyberslate

Thursday, 10 June 2010

After I drink, I shower

I want to tell myself I’m beautiful. I want to know I don’t need this shit. At least I think I do not need the things that can’t keep me alive or dead just as predictable as a shadow, stock market, moon.

*

Parker Tettleton
August Light

Wednesday, 9 June 2010

Tuesday, 8 June 2010

Oldenburg’s Giant Hamburger

I said no gherkins.
They gave me three green pickles.
I got no gherkins.

Not ‘jalapeeno’.
It’s pronounced halapeenno.
Say hah-lah-PEHN-yo.

These medium fries
Are meant to be supersized.
The usual lies.

Ketchup on my shirt.
Hot greasy joy in my heart.
Mustard on my coat.

My taut heart is sore
For the hot Chicken Fillets.
They serve them no more.

*

Joe Dresner

Monday, 7 June 2010

Windsurf

Hand held wind
Splash lapping
Stand, wind across your ears

*

Jon Forceton

Sunday, 6 June 2010

the family argument ends with a smack
from grandma's hand on the kitchen table

*

Stacey Wilson
mother sparrow poetry

Saturday, 5 June 2010

Friday, 4 June 2010

A winter night-
two men slash at each other
with brilliant knives

*

Jack Galmitz

Thursday, 3 June 2010

Icy winds blowing strings of frozen rain
draped ancient wedding gowns
dazzling white upon a crooked fence

*

James Piatt

Wednesday, 2 June 2010

Disillusionment

A flicker of movement
in my periphery; a bird?

Just an empty chip packet,
caught like me in this bitter wind.

*

Gareth Trew
C'est tellement mystérieux, le pays des larmes!

Tuesday, 1 June 2010

My pinions have been clipped,
cage me, keep me, beat me.
But love me.
Oh God, please love me.

*

Sara DeLaVergne