Wednesday, 31 March 2010

A Bird for Louis De Vinck

A pocketbird full of sand,
clipped and pinned,
smells of burlap and tea.

I am not sure which kind;
scrubby black feathers,
blue belly, jaundiced beak.


Angus Sinclair
The Word & Image

Tuesday, 30 March 2010

Humming birds bustling
Around plastic flowers
Sweet honey in mind


James Piatt

Monday, 29 March 2010

Flu Haiku

In bed with flu
clouds sneeze
starlings emerge


Christian Ward

Sunday, 28 March 2010

Saturday, 27 March 2010

grasshopper guts
the belly of a cicada --
sparrow crouching behind


Chen-ou Liu
Stay Drunk on Writing

Friday, 26 March 2010

Thursday, 25 March 2010

      ocean to sky
      in azure light unbroken


Christina Murphy

Wednesday, 24 March 2010

Dark Dock

bow light hangs heavy in the fog
its beam fractured ‘cross chop water
probing for the dark dock


rob kistner
Image & Verse

Tuesday, 23 March 2010

Visit from a Prince

A crowd of people: royalty mistaken for a casualty when the police presence under a burning sky is unexplained and unexpected.


Emily Smith

Monday, 22 March 2010

swift quiet fatigue
grips fragile consciousness
to drag it back to black


Nerissa Rowan

Sunday, 21 March 2010

Saturday, 20 March 2010

R. M. R

The young people
recently met
a great poet
who showed them
how to consider
a sunset.


Thomas Cochran

Friday, 19 March 2010

Thursday, 18 March 2010


in between tulips bulbs
the question:
am i growing this garden
or is this garden
growing me?


Dorothee Lang

Wednesday, 17 March 2010

more startling than
giant redwoods
your ice blue eyes


Joan McNerney

Tuesday, 16 March 2010

Snow melts:
grass berm muddy
as a child’s knee


Martin Cockroft

Monday, 15 March 2010

from 'Dolls'

A froufrou legion
with wide-awake eyes
in the junkshop window,
they have all lost their names.


Helen Ivory
Helen Ivory

Sunday, 14 March 2010

molten froth waves roll in
under sea gulls kiting;
we hot foot it across the sand


Daniel Wilcox
Psalms, Yawps, and Howls

Saturday, 13 March 2010

Your hand on my hip through this lemon sweater.
My cardigan has never felt the same.


Caitlin Foster

Friday, 12 March 2010

too small pajamas
showing only a day's wear
packed up in a box


Diana Murray

Thursday, 11 March 2010

Sun-streamy rays kiss a spot on the hardwood floor
triggering a two-minute snooze for a
"never your leave side" kind of dog.


Elisa Pipkins

Wednesday, 10 March 2010

her shaking fingers / grasped his hand
she smelled of lace collars and cameo brooches


Angie Werren
"woman, ask the question"

Tuesday, 9 March 2010

on colored paper
warm the fridge door


Diana Murray

Monday, 8 March 2010

copper bound by thread,
disturbed by wind…
metallic harmony


G.R. LeBlanc
Reflective Ink

Sunday, 7 March 2010

Afternoon tea, aquarium, chocolate buffet, makeup sex, a movie and room service breakfast in a king size bed. They were still in love.


S. Kay
S. Kay

Saturday, 6 March 2010

Bird and cat
equally decimated
by the dolorous business day.


Jessica Otto

Friday, 5 March 2010

months after the funeral
going through his clothes
even the scent of him is gone


Andrea Vlahakis
Andrea Vlahakis

Thursday, 4 March 2010

My 6th Birthday Party

High fructose corn syrup children
frenzied, then crashing,
aimlessly wandering my backyard
looking for their mothers.


Daniel Romo
Peyote Soliloquies

Wednesday, 3 March 2010


A field of unopened daffodils -
satellites waiting for orders.


Christian Ward
Christian Ward

Tuesday, 2 March 2010

Monday, 1 March 2010

swallowtail hurriedly sampling
every flower
last call


Andrea Vlahakis
Andrea Vlahakis