Sunday, 31 January 2010

After my mother passed away,
and my father married another woman,
I took my mother's engagement ring;
no one even noticed.


BJ Lee
BJ Lee

Saturday, 30 January 2010

the farmer's daughter
reserves her smile
like a barn filled with hay.


Jay Coral

Friday, 29 January 2010

We pull pumpkin halves, blackened,
out of the oven:
veins sizzle on the leathery flesh
where there were no veins before.


Joseph Harker
naming constellations

Thursday, 28 January 2010

in the corners
where dust bunnies gather
innocent robots collect


Katy Acheson

Wednesday, 27 January 2010

Islands of sun light the winter land and at sea a bright rainbow smudges the bruise dark sky.


Jackie Morris
Drawing a line in time

Tuesday, 26 January 2010

Monday, 25 January 2010


Slip on a patch of ice
and drive into a ditch,
then try to put on the radio
to pass the time 'til the tow truck arrives
but all that's on it is Christmas music.


Benjamin C. Krause
Benjamin C. Krause

Sunday, 24 January 2010

Saturday, 23 January 2010

cuttlefish lie dead
on a desolate winter beach


Ag Synclair

Friday, 22 January 2010


The sprung floor rumbles.
Beneath us rats are planning
a coup unnoticed.


Kayo Chingonyi
The Train Set Lifestyle

Thursday, 21 January 2010

The telephone sits,
a multi-eyed crustacean filled
with the ocean’s snickers and jibes.


Matthew Haigh
blue horse poetry

Wednesday, 20 January 2010


Thin, gray-



The shadows
of birds,

but not
the birds.


Howie Good
Apocalypse Mambo

Monday, 18 January 2010

The fat pigeon,
bundles through the sky.


Tom Rendell

Sunday, 17 January 2010

Dark blue-grey morning.
A timpani of rain sounds heavy on my world.
Luxuriating in warmth, I tuck down and drift back to sleep.


Suzanne Dunne

Saturday, 16 January 2010

rotting leaves beckon
she wiggles onto her back--
contented canine


G.R. LeBlanc
Reflective Ink

Friday, 15 January 2010

Dirty dishes, ashes, discouraged,
Yellow leaves and nothing left,
Who was right to garden
This morning?


Matthew Dexter

Thursday, 14 January 2010

like a ship keeling,
the house falling back to earth
and snow


Nina Buck

Wednesday, 13 January 2010

cement worker
with Rosa tattooed across the naked
bridge of his back
sings to the white dust
only time can heal a broken heart


Nina Buck

Tuesday, 12 January 2010


red river desert
accipitridae seek food
the spoils of war


Ag Synclair

Monday, 11 January 2010

Sunday, 10 January 2010

empty bowl of soup,
left behind


Diana Murray
Black-strap slip-on blisters
lace-up, clickclack: I am sound –
heels on hardwood.


Emily Rose Cole
Emily Rose Cole

Saturday, 9 January 2010

far-flying birds are strings and rosined bows
the wind / a crying cello


Angie Werren
woman, ask the question

Friday, 8 January 2010

three six-year-olds stand
with heads bowed over stilled wings--
monarch funeral


Eric T. Marin
Musings and Meanderings

Thursday, 7 January 2010

new moon, thin and slick as an eel

bats stitch the stars together
to catch the moon


Geoff Sawers

Wednesday, 6 January 2010

Tuesday, 5 January 2010

If I close my eyes
I cannot see
the blood
but I feel
the sun's warmth.


Jeff Fleming
nibble - a poetry magazine

Monday, 4 January 2010

crow taunts me from the light pole
do I look like Poe in the pouring rain?


Angie Werren
woman, ask the question

Sunday, 3 January 2010

Through the naked trees
we can see everything:
road, house, boat, grave.


Kathryn Good-Schiff
Dragon's Meow

Saturday, 2 January 2010

Buddha smiles broadly
forever he laughs and laughs
he has seen the joke


Ken Head

Friday, 1 January 2010