Thursday, 31 December 2009

the quiet light of the chandelier sways above the guest's bowed heads.


Najah Parker

Wednesday, 30 December 2009


Nineteen eighty six,
last day of Edinburgh Fringe,
Fred starts on Bobby.


Kayo Chingonyi
The Train Set Lifestyle

Tuesday, 29 December 2009

crows: metallic nightmares
bursting from subconscious


Matthew Haigh
blue horse poetry

Monday, 28 December 2009

a copper hawk rests
the telephone wire like a low-cut neckline
across the firmament's décolletage


Regina C. Green
red bird chronicles

Sunday, 27 December 2009


mutes the light today, but the carpet of yellow leaves reflects it back, bright from the ground.


jessica kramer
jessica kramer

Saturday, 26 December 2009

a break in our usual programming

No small stone today. I wanted to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to all the small-stone-writers who make this blog possible, and to all the readers, without whom there wouldn't be much point. Here's to another year of cracking small stones. Cheers, and happy holidays.

Friday, 25 December 2009

in my neighbor's yard
illuminated reindeer
graze green grass


G.R. LeBlanc
Reflective Ink

Thursday, 24 December 2009

first snow storm
they cancelled all the flights
to Florida


Monika Thoma-Petit
MoHe's Xanga site

Wednesday, 23 December 2009


Like a roadside flare
still burning

hours after the accident
has been cleared away


Howie Good
Apocalypse Mambo

Tuesday, 22 December 2009

A frozen pond
framed by glowing rowan berries;
redwings take flight.


Michelle McGrane
peony moon

Monday, 21 December 2009

circular sparrows
    swerve into twilit weather
       accidental wheel


Janann Dawkins
Third Wednesday

Sunday, 20 December 2009

Saturday, 19 December 2009

rain haze tickles
winter garden
the shrubberies
chill lovers' sensorium


Tim Nees

Friday, 18 December 2009

In the attic
two hired hands
pallbear the grandfather's clock.


Jay Coral

Thursday, 17 December 2009

All these people
Hanging upside down from the clothes line


Andrew Stott

Wednesday, 16 December 2009

Lone cello note
deepens: dark, reverent,
unhollowing me.


Emily Rose Cole
Emily Rose Cole

Tuesday, 15 December 2009

Monday, 14 December 2009

headteacher's conference
the back row boys
talk all the way through


Matt Morden
Morden Haiku

Sunday, 13 December 2009

Cuando la criada bajó del camión,
el moyote enorme le siguió,
aferrado a sus hombros
como malas noticias.

As the maid descends from the bus,
a giant mosquito follows her,
clinging to her shoulders
like bad news.


Joseph Harker
naming constellations

Saturday, 12 December 2009

A full pink moon attaches itself to the water in a lacy crocheted line, all the way to our canoe. We are tethered to the moon by the light.


Sarah Selecky
Sarah Selecky

Friday, 11 December 2009


Sometimes I doubt that
I want to see your hair turn
grey and grey and grey.


Jenny Adamthwaite
From the Living Room

Thursday, 10 December 2009

Wednesday, 9 December 2009


this idea of abundance of
days of space

this promise


dorothee lang
blueprint 21

Tuesday, 8 December 2009

Warmth fights through
the gutsy breezes
and then
is blown away again.


Jeff Fleming
nibble - a poetry magazine

Monday, 7 December 2009

My body fills
any given room,
breath bound by rafters


Beth Balousek

Sunday, 6 December 2009

Saturday, 5 December 2009

Our pond

A bowl now covered
By winter’s transparent lid
Summer greens frozen


Patricia La Barbera
Patricia La Barbera

Friday, 4 December 2009

he fidgets in his ill-fitted suit
thrust in the midst of

he hopes no one notices his shoes


Angie Werren
woman, ask the question

Thursday, 3 December 2009

A snell wind chips
its words into my head
like a stonemason.


Gordon Mason
Catapult to Mars

Wednesday, 2 December 2009

In the black forest
the moon hangs ripe
on its cloud branch.


Kathryn Good-Schiff
Dragon's Meow

Tuesday, 1 December 2009

Always with the footsteps of a dancer, eyes hyacinth-blue
The sky above the tumbled columns, the darkening sky.


Christophe Riesco
Christophe Riesco