Saturday, 31 October 2009

after the green gloam of the park
a blue black bruised neighborhood
rent apart by orange neon
and the fierce brand of headlights


Natalie Korman

Friday, 30 October 2009

I can trawl and wish,
pray through the night out of want of a god


Maureen Jivani

Thursday, 29 October 2009

My ever-warm soft white cat lies perfectly still on the asphalt; bright scarlet trickles from her nose.


Brian Moffat

Wednesday, 28 October 2009

I heard gunshots again last night
and our gated neighborhood is an island,
soon to be swallowed by the sea.


Ben White
day/night reversal

Tuesday, 27 October 2009

Autumn Breeze

One brown shoe
on the side of the road

a foot still in it


Howie Good
Apocalypse Mambo

Monday, 26 October 2009

Sunday, 25 October 2009

Entering Paxton

a lone Waxwing
greets me from atop
an ageless stone wall
among brushwood
and floret


A.g. Synclair

Saturday, 24 October 2009

it feels like early evening
all day; I am
disoriented by gray


Marsha Robinson

Friday, 23 October 2009


the knives dance at night
slipping through the sliver
openings of cabinet doors


Torie Michelle Anderson

Thursday, 22 October 2009

The back of his head
is as beautiful as anything


Marsha Robinson

Wednesday, 21 October 2009

Tuesday, 20 October 2009

it's cold this morning // my sweaters are folded in cedar-chipped boxes


Angie Werren
woman, ask the question

Monday, 19 October 2009

Everything Falls

The path is strewn
dappled light.


Tamra Hayes
Laughing Dove Poetry

Sunday, 18 October 2009

Shorn sheep grazing in the sun,
oblivious to the express train cutting
through the heat haze.


Beth Williamson

Saturday, 17 October 2009

Gannets bombing into the sea off Abermaw beach
and then, on our last day,
a dead harbour porpoise, washed up by the waves.


Geoff Sawers

Friday, 16 October 2009

Thursday, 15 October 2009

stale shimmering afternoon
and a trip to the compost bins
- flies ride the elevator


Kelly Shepherd
Kelly Shepherd

Wednesday, 14 October 2009

cold raindrops
spotting the streets,
tapping on windows


Stephen Jarrell Williams

Tuesday, 13 October 2009

she often said,
''i told you so.'
'i smile to think
she'd say it now.


Ian Houston
Asleep On My Feet

Monday, 12 October 2009

metallic slink;
his Rolex slides down
her pale wrist.


Asmara Malik

Sunday, 11 October 2009

Saturday, 10 October 2009

dog occupies folding bed
dog occupies futon
dog coils up


Kirsten Nørgaard

Friday, 9 October 2009

Thursday, 8 October 2009

Small Bird

the small bird
beneath the hedge
brown as the ground
hidden from the rain


Pamela Olson
Amputated Moon

Wednesday, 7 October 2009

I walk for the morning newspaper, not for the news, but to renew myself.


Eric Miller

Tuesday, 6 October 2009

An Evening On Millennium Bridge: Two Thoughts

Walking towards St Paul's Cathedral;
crane tops sit on the skyline
like stationary fireworks.


I have always loved walking
over bodies of water --
even when, on looking down,
I remember it's the Thames.


Gareth Trew

Monday, 5 October 2009

In silence, broken flowers shiver in the beer glass.


Jon Summers

Sunday, 4 October 2009

Inside a buttercup
Inside a buttercup
Inside a buttercup


Andrew Stott

Saturday, 3 October 2009

Tail streaming in the wind, a wild plastic pony rides the ridge of a suitcase waiting to cross the border.


Beverly Robinson
murmuring trees

Friday, 2 October 2009

Fungal alien brains grown to the wet-wood, rot-stump of an oak.


Deborah Walker

Thursday, 1 October 2009