Saturday, 28 February 2009

lengthening days
the blackbird's song
a few notes longer

*

Matt Morden
Morden Haiku

Friday, 27 February 2009

wedge of geese
honk-a-lonk above -
the newborn shivers

*

Corey Cook
Corey Cook

Thursday, 26 February 2009

Wednesday, 25 February 2009

Tuesday, 24 February 2009

red fell from
the rabbit's ear

staining the linoleum
no other sign

of death;
black eyes still
glossy

like a marbled bushfire

*

Ainslee Meredith
Never, Esther

Monday, 23 February 2009

Sunday, 22 February 2009

You have told me so much in anger,
I can't remember the rest.

*

Stephen Jarrell Williams

Saturday, 21 February 2009

A triangular scruff of woodland squeezed between railway lines coming into Raynes Park station. A deep green cleft of tangled trees, over-enthusiastic bushes, broken branches and rubbish.

*

Matthew Friday
Matthew Friday

Friday, 20 February 2009

prairie sunset
a rabbit blazes
wheat-covered trails

*

Shirla White
Shirla White

Thursday, 19 February 2009

The freckles behind your necklace
Make me glad you wore that dress.

*

Col Ventura
Word Steady

Wednesday, 18 February 2009

The kestrel is out again—
doves hide, silent, in the still grass.

*

James Brush
Coyote Mercury

Tuesday, 17 February 2009

across the quiet pond,
a deer wanders down to drink-
the crackling of ice

*

sandra lawrence
four winds haiga

Monday, 16 February 2009

A dragon on the underside
of my brother's arm;

its black tongue tickles
the blue veins of his wrist.

*

Gareth Trew
Gareth Trew

Sunday, 15 February 2009

To waken to the sound of the sea is to turn a corner; to understand the way a gull hurls abuse at a summer morning, a scatological summary of a flawed world.

*

Wendy Klein
Wendy Klein

Saturday, 14 February 2009

Next Warm Meal

We crumble crackers in our soup
the way we drop change
in a beggar's empty Pepsi cup.

*

William Soule
William Soule

Friday, 13 February 2009

Thursday, 12 February 2009

in a quiet room, filled with deep thoughts,
don't eat the crunchy food with your mouth open

*

Liza Lee Miller
It's Just Me

Wednesday, 11 February 2009

stargazing--
tonight
smells like
snow, we
spend it
spearing
dreams
instead of
salmon

*

amanda oaks
verve bath press

Tuesday, 10 February 2009

A needle glinting on the marble floor
Or one of your silver hairs?

*

Gabrielle Daly

Monday, 9 February 2009

Winter weeds standing tall in white
blanched of living color
seeds sleeping

*

Taomaster Frank
My Spirit Journeys

Sunday, 8 February 2009

Saturday, 7 February 2009

Snow Field

The sheep in next door's field
disconsolate at the sudden
disappearance of their grass.

*

Caroline M Davies
Advancing Poetry

Friday, 6 February 2009

He’s grumpy because he’s mislaid his instruction book. I’m grumpy because I’ve mislaid my life.

*

spj
Writing Home

Thursday, 5 February 2009

The floor feels cold - my back is sore, but I sleep peacefully, because the bedsheets smell like you, and the bedroom tiles are the same color as your skin.

*

Sergio S. Martínez
Sergio S. Martínez

Wednesday, 4 February 2009

Whirling birds dart across the sky like bright waterbugs on a lake. I hear the whap-whap-whap of engines while lying in bed at 5 a.m. and imagine their single bright light, those mechanical stars, moving through morning.

*

Elizabeth Westmark
Switched At Birth

Tuesday, 3 February 2009

Monday, 2 February 2009

Sunday, 1 February 2009

fish-filch, wing-whirr,
beak-bright bustle to burrow –
That’s All Folks

*

Susan Richardson
Susan's Journal of Literary Things