Wednesday, 31 December 2008

hand-knit drystone walls,
land enriched with seaweed stitch –
feel the warmth

*

Susan Richardson
Susan's Journal of Literary Things

Tuesday, 30 December 2008

December

Gunshot-poinsettas in windows –
mauve smoke seething
in cold, twilit yards.

*

Claire Askew
Read This Magazine

Monday, 29 December 2008

DAWN SHIFT

Everything you left will wait
yawning and stretching my arms

*

Charles Lambert
Charles Lambert

Sunday, 28 December 2008

A pheasant searches the long grass;

slow
deliberate
steps
head bobbing,

*

Julie Singleton
Julie Singleton

Saturday, 27 December 2008

Rain flattens and shines a mosaic of fingery oak leaves on my front walk.

*

Will Collum
Serpentinarium

Friday, 26 December 2008

the winter shadows on the snow are as long as memories

*

Janet Smith
Mid-Life Clarity

Thursday, 25 December 2008

Wednesday, 24 December 2008

How far did you travel just to melt on my nose, little snowflake?

*

Victoria Macdonald

Tuesday, 23 December 2008

Lake City: a man sweeps fall into a dust pan, drops it in a bag.

*

Dana Guthrie Martin
my gorgeous somewhere

Monday, 22 December 2008

The light ebbs away slowly from a sky the colour of pale tea and ink stains.

*

Katherine Woodfine
follow the yellow brick road

Sunday, 21 December 2008

Bright green lichen
gloves the cold joints
of twig bones.

*

Annie Kerr
Ink haven

Saturday, 20 December 2008

mustard crusted torch of a moon pierces straight-laced net curtains drawn by the cold world

*

Gordon Mason
Catapult To Mars

Friday, 19 December 2008

Bright sunshine shows up the emptying trees, gardens glazed in moisture.

*

Matthew Friday
Matthew Friday

Thursday, 18 December 2008

Wednesday, 17 December 2008

Pine Lake

A turpentine moon in widowed sky
strips a path across the varnished lake.

*

Gordon Mason
Catapult to Mars

Tuesday, 16 December 2008

Monday, 15 December 2008

Frost standing upright on the fencepost like iron-filings on a magnet.

*

Lorna Senior

Sunday, 14 December 2008

Taste - panic

Tension makes
My mouth self-conscious
It is drier, more bitter
My tongue just an obstruction

*

Rachel Fox
More about the song

Saturday, 13 December 2008

Friday, 12 December 2008

Thursday, 11 December 2008

Wednesday, 10 December 2008

You recited my poem
so badly that
it seemed like one of yours.

*

Martial: Epigrams
Translated by Ian House

Tuesday, 9 December 2008

Deep frost glitters in
the headlights of passers-by;
crows eat the apples

*

Rachel Green
When the Dogs Bite

Monday, 8 December 2008

Sunday, 7 December 2008

Saturday, 6 December 2008

This dog understands the nature of sticks, how much they need to be thrown.

*

We liked it but not quite enough

Friday, 5 December 2008

Thursday, 4 December 2008

Orange balloons, candlelit from within, float across the sky, disappear in darkness.

*

Juliet Wilson
Crafty Green Poet

Wednesday, 3 December 2008

Daisies star the grass - the sky emptied its catch while we were sleeping.

*

Maggie Sawkins
Maggie Sawkins

Tuesday, 2 December 2008

my round dumpling of a tiny girl pushes deeply at the golden squash and ivory rice cereal that went down so easily and bedevils her best efforts to give it an equal exit

*

rm mist
What The Muses Leave Behind

Monday, 1 December 2008

Night Drive

Our headlights’ treasure:
eyeglint, a nightjar, jewels
in a feathered fist.

*

Isobel Dixon
Isobel Dixon