Sunday, 30 November 2008

Saturday, 29 November 2008

Our Discovery Apple tree, alive with red Admiral butterflies seeking the ripest fruit in the September sunshine.

*

Caroline M. Davies
Advancing Poetry

Friday, 28 November 2008

The scribbled silhouettes of bare trees, the shapes of unfurling hedgerows, long whiskery brown grass, an open field flashing past for a fleeting moment, then lost again in the dark.

*

Katherine Woodfine
follow the yellow brick road

Thursday, 27 November 2008

Sidereal

Alone at night on a dock,
crouched low on wooden boards,
edge of a cool November lake.
Black water mirrors a moon
suspended above cedars–
we wend our way, the moon and I,
across a midnight streaked with stars.

*

Christine Swint
balanced on the edge

Wednesday, 26 November 2008

sparrows sip thaw beads a warmth has sweated off four frosts

*

Gordon Mason
Catapult To Mars

Tuesday, 25 November 2008

A tracing paper day. The sky and ‘scape grey and blurred at the edges.

*

Kristina Meredith
The Apprentice Writer

Sunday, 23 November 2008

The scarlet jam flows like hot lava onto the cool pale pavement. Small salty tears trickle down sugar covered cheeks as sticky fingers reach for the fallen treat.

*

Jo Cooper
Reason, Season or Lifetime

Saturday, 22 November 2008

The last leaves of autumn crunch underfoot, crisp as cornflakes.

*

Lorna Senior

Friday, 21 November 2008

Evening gloom like a glove slips over the street
swats away the sun, leaving a yellow smear
in the darkening sky, darkening.

*

Matthew Friday
Matthew Friday

Thursday, 20 November 2008

Wednesday, 19 November 2008

the interstate's a runway for the fall fashion statements of the trees

*

Charlotte Babb
Miss Charlotte's Babblings

Tuesday, 18 November 2008

each morning from my bedroom window, through the open red shutters, the topmost leaves of the plane trees, and above, the crown of a palm stamped against a blue sky

*

Lynne Rees
an open field

Monday, 17 November 2008

The dogs sleep sprawled across the hall like scattered stones--place markers for where I've been and where I'm going.

*

Sage Cohen
Sage A Vu

Sunday, 16 November 2008

Saturday, 15 November 2008

Birds flock to the trees in my yard, and I have nothing to say to them.

*

Dana Guthrie Martin
my gorgeous somewhere

Friday, 14 November 2008

Thursday, 13 November 2008

Spiteful

Sophie arrived, heavily pregnant. Rose and I hadn't known.

*

Martin Reed
worded

Wednesday, 12 November 2008

The sound of a moth, clattering battering bludgeoning itself against the midnight streetlamp.

*

Andy Fryer
A Half-Remembered Life

Tuesday, 11 November 2008

Monday, 10 November 2008

The evening breeze pebbles my skin as the blackbird sings her lullaby.

*

Marie Fullerton

Sunday, 9 November 2008

Saturday, 8 November 2008

A huge fly climbs up the window, falls and begins climbing again.

*

Clare Grant
Three Beautiful Things

Friday, 7 November 2008

Sunshine through raindrops
in the early morning light
remind me of home.

*

Rachel Green
When The Dogs Bite

Thursday, 6 November 2008

Early evening revelation

The mirror throws a shaft of sunlight into the dark corner of the room, lighting up the jar of water and sable brushes like a lantern.

*

John Loader

Wednesday, 5 November 2008

Tuesday, 4 November 2008

Old gypsy caravan, hemmed in by degrading concrete and rusting metal, your brightly coloured paint the only joy in your surroundings.

*

David Penhallow

Monday, 3 November 2008

Sunday, 2 November 2008

Saturday, 1 November 2008

Sunrise: The moon's still up, that party girl, exuberant streamers floating reluctantly to earth; morning painting the tree trunks.

*

Elizabeth Westmark
Switched at Birth